Seeing Into Forever

His eyes were wide open staring, staring at nothing. Staring at the dark.

The night was pierced by stabs of light; blue, red, white, orange. Flashing, flashing all around him. Playing across the broken windshield.

His brother sat upright in his drivers seat, arms at his sides, loose. His head slumped forward.

He couldn’t see me as I approached across the median. He couldn’t hear the crowd gathered around him. There was no sense of urgency.

He laid there, limp, staring blankly arms sprawled across a folded dashboard, glass all around him, broken and shattered, like the heart of his mother would soon be, sitting warm in her home oblivious to this happening.

I moved all about them. They made no move to greet me, to acknowledge me. To draw breath as I drew in the cool night air around them. I tried to keep that distance, to not relate to them, but he stared at me. His eyes followed me, saw but didn’t see me, they stared until they met mine.

I looked deep into his eyes. Blank. Cold. Seeing things I cannot even fathom. Seeing more than life could ever reveal. I felt an anger stir inside of me. I felt emotions begin to summit the wall I’d put up in my mind.

A hand touched my arm. I turned to see a man with a camera. He cracked a joke, gesturing to the chaos that was once two young men and a car. I felt sick to my stomach. Such blatant disregard for life, for the lost, for the tragedy that will soon invade and shake a family to its core.

I raged at him. I stepped toward him, intimidating him with my authority. I sent him away. I did my best to protect a young man I never knew.

And his eyes, wide open, saw everything. Saw into my soul. Saw into forever.

About creativewriter72

I am a person embarking on an in depth exploration of the creative side of writing. Each blog post is an exercise in creative writing and the stories are not intended to be continuous.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment